Navigation

Philosophy College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences

People


Faculty | Instructors and Affiliate Faculty | Emeritus Faculty | Staff

Faculty

Cynthia A. Freeland

Cynthia A. Freeland, Professor and Department Chair
(713) 743-3206
cfreeland@uh.edu
5011 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., Michigan State University
M.A., Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Aesthetics, Ancient Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy

Website

Gregory A. Brown

Gregory A. Brown, Professor
(713) 743-3202
gbrown@uh.edu
509 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A. University of Hawaii
M.A., Ph.D., University of Maryland
History of Early Modern Philosophy, History and Philosophy of Science

Website

Joshua Brown

Joshua Brown, Assistant Professor
(713) 743-3079
jdkbrown@uh.edu
506 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A. Carleton College
Ph.D., University of Michigan
Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science

James W. Garson

James W. Garson, Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
(713) 743-3205
jgarson@uh.edu
502 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., Haverford College
M.A., Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Logic, Modal Logic, Formal Semantics, Computational Linguistics, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Mathematics

Website

Helen Hattab

Helen Hattab, Assistant Professor
(713) 743-4147
hhattab@uh.edu
504 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., Trenton State College
M.A., Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Early Modern Philosophy, Renaissance Philosophy, Renaissance and Early Modern Science, Medieval Philosophy

Anne Jaap Jacobson

Anne Jaap Jacobson, Professor
(713) 743-3204
ajjacobson@uh.edu
510 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., University of California at Berkeley
B.Phil., D.Phil., Oxford University
Philosophy of Mind, History of Modern Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, Metaphysics, Epistemology

Website

Bredo C. Johnsen

Bredo C. Johnsen, Professor and Undergraduate Adviser
(713) 743-3208
bredoj@yahoo.com
501 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., Wayne State University
Ph.D., Harvard University
Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind

William N. Nelson

William N. Nelson, Professor
(713) 743-3203
wnelson@uh.edu
501 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., Harvard University
Ph.D., Cornell University
Ethics, Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law

Website

David K. Phillips

David K. Phillips, Associate Professor
(713) 743-3209
dphillips@uh.edu
504 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., Oxford
M.A., Ph.D., Cornell University
Ethics, History of Ethics, Philosophy of Economics

Tamler Sommers

Tamler Sommers, Assistant Professor
(713) 743-3032
tssommers@uh.edu
504 Agnes Arnold Hall

B. A. (English), University of Pennsylvania

Ph.D. (Philosophy), Duke University
Ethics, Moral Psychology, Free Will and Moral Responsibility

Website

Josh Weisberg

Josh Weisberg, Assistant Professor
(713) 743-3200
jweisberg@uh.edu
515 Agnes Arnold Hall

B.A., New York University
M.A., Ph.D., City University of New York
Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science

Website

Instructors and Affiliate Faculty

Edwin Aiman

Edwin Aiman, Instructor
654 Agnes Arnold Hall
(713) 743-3632
eaiman@uh.edu

Carl Feierabend

Carl Feierabend, Instructor
654 Agnes Arnold Hall
(713) 743-3632
cfeierabend@email.com

Curtis Haaga

Curtis Haaga, Instructor
654 Agnes Arnold Hall
(713) 743-3632
chaaga@uh.edu

Iain Morrison

Iain Morrison, Instructional Assistant Professor (Honors College)
204c M.D. Anderson Memorial Library
(713) 743- 9022
imorrison@uh.edu

Emeritus Faculty

  • William H. Austin, Professor Emeritus
    B.A., Wesleyan University; B.D. Yale University; Ph. D., Yale University Philosophy of Religion, Inductive Logic and Deceision Theory
    waustin410@comcast.net
  • M. G. Yoes, Professor Emeritus
    B.A., M.A., Baylor University; Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania. Metaphysics, Philosophy of Logic, Philosophy of Language
    mgyoes@comcast.net

Staff

Lisa Haywood

Lisa Haywood, Business Administrator
518 Agnes Arnold Hall
(713) 743-3207
lhaywood@central.uh.edu

Jacklyn Vela

Jacklyn Vela, Academic Advising Assistant
516 Agnes Arnold Hall
(713) 743-4145
jdvela2@uh.edu

Students

All Graduate Students

Teaching Assistants